WIAW: A Foodie’s Paradise

Hello everyone! This is my first week back to school, but I am already looking forward to the weekend. Please take me back to the days when I had more time and decent lighting to take pictures. Sigh.

Instead of showing you the ugly eats I actually ate today, I am going to give you a little insight on my eats from this past Sunday while I was in Columbus.

I woke up at around eight o’clock, jumped in the shower, got dressed, and headed downstairs to make a satisfying breakfast to hold me over for the two hour car ride. I knew that I wanted to try a smoothie bowl at Alchemy later, so I opted for a savory breakfast. Although I normally lean towards sweet oats/yogurt with fruit for breakfast, this savory omlette was quite delicious! My omlette skills are getting better and better every day. I also had a japanese yam on the side because I had to have at least a little sweetness. I tell you, my sweet teeth have a mind of their own.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

Our first stop in Columbus was my favorite blogger’s juice bar and cafe, Alchemy. After changing my mind a million times, I decided to order the blueberry almond butter acai bowl. O.M.G. How in the world was I calling myself a foodie before I tasted an acai bowl?!!!?? Acai bowls are what actual dreams are made of. I already cannot wait to try all of the other bowls at Alchemy, and of course see the lovely Alexis again. 🙂 She is seriously the sweetest person I have ever met, and I am beyond grateful to have her as a mentor.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

Next we stopped by Trader Joe’s to pick up almond butter. Their brand is my absolute favorite, and a trip to Columbus is not complete without picking up a jar or two of TJ’s almond butter. Of course I couldn’t contain myself and bought 3 bajillion other things that caught my eye including two big bags of japanese yams, coffee BBQ rub, and chocolate.

After my family dragged my out of Trader Joe’s (probably for my own good, and the security of my dad’s wallet), we stopped for a visit at my great uncle’s house for a few hours. Despite my fondness of social media, it was nice to take a few hours to step away from all of the technology and engage in real life conversation. It is so easy in this day and age to get caught up in the world in the palm of our hand’s that we forget to get out and talk face to face with the people around us.

At around five o’clock, after saying our goodbyes, we headed over to Whole Foods to both grab some dinner and shop around. The Columbus Whole Foods was the ultimate foodie destination. I would honestly live there if I could. Right when we walked in, the air was filled with the heavenly aromas from the hot bar, which, might I add, was HUMONGOUS!! I then made the impossible decision of choosing only a few items for my dinner. I went with the seasoned grilled veggies/fruits with tons of hummus and the most perfectly grilled fillet of salmon. The veggies consisted of sweet potatoes, purple potatoes, apples, asparagus, cherry tomatoes, and eggplant. Can I get a YUM up in here?

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset
A peak at my foodie finds

I then proceded to further deplete my dad’s wallet, but for a good foodie cause. My argument is that I will use all of it and nothing will be wasted. My dad, a big believer in conservation, submits to this and allows me to go crazy. He truly is the best. Also, shoutout to my sister who absolutley hates grocery shopping of all kinds and her patience with me as I wandered the store for an hour. She’s a trooper.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

On the way home, I dug into my dinner. I had absolutley no light so my dinner expirience was similar to a blind taste test, which I didn’t hate. I got to challenge my pallet, as they say on Food Network.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

Before going to bed, I snacked on a chocolate banana muffin with a banana. That night, I went to bed with dreams of all of the wonderful eats I had. I call that a success.

Now tell me…

  • Which do you prefer: Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s?
  • Do your family members get impatient with you while you are food shopping?

4 thoughts on “WIAW: A Foodie’s Paradise

  1. I’ve never had an acai bowl- they look so amazing though! And hmmm that’s a hard one, trader joe’s and whole foods are both so amazing! I think I prefer whole foods though if it comes down to it-they’re salad bar is just too good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

