Green Pea Pesto Pasta

 

It’s time to get off the new year with an easy-peasy recipe. Literally.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

This pasta dish comes together in less than 30 minutes, unless of course you are me and forget to put the blade in the food processor. I had all of my ingredients in the machine and tried pulsing at least 20 times before I realized that there was no blade. Palm to face moment.

Whenever I am stalking searching the internet for new recipes and blogs, I am in awe of the appearance of perfection that these bloggers are able to achieve. If you were to walk into my kitchen while I was in the middle of preparing a recipe, you would find a sink full of dishes, an island covered in clutter, and an array of polka dot stains on top of my stove. I will also admit that I lick the knife that I use to spread nut butter Every. Single. Time. In addition, the five second rule does not always apply in my kitchen. What can I say, I like to live on the edge.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

So why am I telling you this? The flawless, perfectly lit images of the internet are not always exactly the way they seem. I am sure if you spent a day in the life of your favorite blogger you would witness similar scenes to my hetic kitchen, and that is A-OKAY! Heck, half of the fun of blogging is expirimenting like a mad scientist in the kitchen, with an outfit covered in flour and peanut butter covered fingers. Moral of the story: messy kitchens are the best kitchens. At least in my humble opinion. 😉

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

Now let us know bring our attention back to the star of this post: Pesto Pea Pasta. Say that ten times fast. This recipe is perfect for packed lunches as it tastes wonderful served cold. I amped up the protein content in my version by using Banza pasta which is made completely from chickpeas. One serving has 14 grams of protein. That is twice the amount of traditional wheat pasta! So go ahead and make this pasta, and be sure to make a mess of your kitchen while you are at it.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

Green Pea Pesto Pasta

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1 small head of garlic + 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 box of Banza pasta (or pasta of your choice)
  • 1 cup basil
  • 2 cups frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • toasted pinenuts for topping

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Cut of the top of the head of garlic and drizzle olive oil on top. Wrap in tin foil and bake for about 20 minutes or until the garlic is golden brown and fragrant.
  2. While the garlic is baking, boil a pot of water for your pasta. Cook according to the instructions on the side of the box. Drain and set aside.
  3. Defrost the peas by boiling or microwaving them until warm. Place the basil, peas, chicken broth, cheese, salt, pepper, and cooked garlic into the food processor (with the blade!), and pulse until smooth.
  4. Pour pesto over top of the pasta and mix in the cherry tomatoes. Top with extra parmesan and toasted pinenuts.

Now tell me…

  • Are you a messy chef?
  • Please tell me I am not the only one who licks a knife.

 

 


4 thoughts on “Green Pea Pesto Pasta

  1. I agree, messy kitchens are the best! Mine is always a disaster when I’m blogging a recipe. It looks like a tornado hit it.

    This pasta looks so delicious and healthy! Totally worth the effort of trying to blend the pesto without the blade 20 times, lol! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one with a messy kitchen! Thank you for all of your support on my blog. It truly means the world to me :). This is going to sound super cheesy so bare with me. Your blog has been such an inspiration for me as I began blogging. I look forward to reading your posts and trying your recipes everyday. Thank you ♥️

      Like

Leave a Reply

