Green Eggs and a Yam

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.” –Dr. Seuss

I’m inviting you to steer in the direction of this delicious, nutritious sweet potato masterpiece.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

Growing up with parents who are english teachers, reading has been present my whole life. Dr. Seuss was of course a family favorite. I remember snuggling up in bed with the blankets pulled up to my nose, listening to my mom or dad reading bed time stories until my head hit the pillow.

These childhood memories bring me back to simpler times. Oh how I would love to go back to a stress-free day in the life of eight year old Maddie. After seeing Leah’s post, I have been thinking a lot about this, and I have come to an important realization. Life is short. I often find myself thinking of the past or the future, but never on what is right before my eyes. As a child, I enjoyed every present moment, whether it was playing tag outside with the neighborhood kids or coloring a picture in my coloring book.

Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

Although I cannot physically go back in time, I believe that my mind can still think like it did ten years ago. It may be November, (almost december!!! what???!!) but I am making a New Year’s Resolution to stay in the moment in whatever I am doing. Trying to keep my mind focused on what is truly important. Not my math test. Not my outfit for tomorrow. Nothing but the present.

Speaking of the present, let us get to the real reason why you foodies are all here: Green Eggs and a Yam. I know, I know. It really should be ham, but I am not the biggest fan. Yams on the other hand, I ADORE! Don’t skimp out on baking these babies in the oven. It may take longer, but it is completely worth it. Money back garuntee. Actually no because I have to buy christmas presents and I need all the cash I can get. Just do it and you will thank me.

Processed with VSCOcam with a9 preset

Green Eggs and a Yam

Serves One

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp pesto
  • 1 cup raw broccoli cut into bite sized pieces

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F. Cook potato for 1 hour until tender.
  2. When the potato is almost done, bring a small pot of water to a boil. Add broccoli and cook for 2-4 minutes or until tender. Drain and place in an icebath to stop cooking.
  3. Crack eggs into a bowl and add the pesto. Whisk, whisk, whisk! In a sprayed skillet, scramble eggs for about 20 seconds. Add in broccoli and cook until desired doneness. I like my eggs just cooked so I rarely leave them in longer than a minute.
  4. Top mixture on top of potato and eat up!

Now tell me…

  • What were your favorite stories as a child?
  • How do you keep stress free and in the moment?

One thought on “Green Eggs and a Yam

Leave a Reply

