Pumpkin Donuts with Almond Butter Glaze

Let’s talk donuts. Or doughnuts. Whichever you prefer.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

When I think of donuts, I automatically think of my elementary slumber party weekends. After a late night of singing to Hannah Montana and High School Musical, my gal pals and I would wake up to a plate full of donuts from the local coffee shop that my parents had bought for us. Ahhh…those were the days. My personal favorites were the cream cheese cake donut and the bavarian creme filled longjohns. I’m starting to drool just thinking about them. Good thing I have a batch of these pumpkin almond butter donuts in my fridge! Please excuse me while I take a little donut break.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Donuts have a bad rep on the nutritional board, but with a little bit of creativity and lots of almond butter, this sinful breakfast can be transformed into a healthy, filling meal. Instead of deep frying them, I baked mine in a donut pan. I also used greek yogurt and flax seeds to up the protein content in order to create a more satisfying treat. The glaze is also essential to the donut, so instead of dousing them in powdered sugar glaze, I used an almond butter and pumpkin spread that will be sure to knock your socks off. I see a new reality show surfacing: Extreme Makeover, Donut edition.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Despite the changes I made to lighten these donuts up, they still passed the taste test. My dad is my number one taste tester, as he is willing to try anything that I put in front of him. When I gave him a donut, he began to critique my baking, food network judge style. “I love the little specks of pumpkin pie spice in here,” he said while examining my presentational skills. “The crunch from the pumpkin seeds and pecans is a nice touch.”  Florian Bellanger better watch out; my dad is coming to take his place on the cupcake wars judging panel.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My dad’s only critique of this recipe was that he would prefer a hint more sweetness. I have to disagree with him on this one, but maybe that’s just because I added chocolate chips to mine. If your eating these for breakfast, I would leave out the extra maple syrup, but if you want a dessert donut, go ahead and add it. Either way, these donuts will be sure to satisfy your sweet tooth and put a smile on your face.

Pumpkin Donuts With Almond Butter Glaze

Makes 10 donuts

Donuts

1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax, 3 tbsp warm water)

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup oats, ground into a flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/2 cup pumpkin purée

1/4 cup baking stevia

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 greek yogurt mixed with 4 stevia drops

1/4 cup milk

2 tbsp maple syrup (optional)

Glaze

3 medjool dates

1/4 pumpkin purée

1/4 cup almond butter

1/4 cup milk

Toppings

pepitas, pecans, walnuts, cacao nibs, chocolate chips, sprinkles, etc.

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray donut pan with nonstick spray.
  2. Mix flax and water in a small bowl and set aside to gel.
  3. Combine dry ingredients (whole wheat pastry flour through pumpkin pie spice) in a large bowl.
  4. Mix the wet ingredients (pumpkin purée through maple syrup) in a small bowl and gradually stir into the dry ingredients.
  5. Spoon mixture evenly into 12 donut pan cavities. You can also use a muffin tin if you don’t have a donut pan.
  6. Bake for about 8 minutes, flipping the pans halfway through.
  7. While the donuts are baking, make the glaze by combining all of the ingredients in a magic bullet or high powered blender until smooth.
  8. Once donuts have cooled slightly, dip into glaze and top with pepitas or pecans. Or chocolate chips 😉 I won’t judge.
  9. Eat immediately. Leftovers can be stored in the fridge for about a week.

Leave a Reply

