Maple Pepita Seed Butter

Everyone go give your food processor a pep talk. It’s seed butter time.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’m serious. This recipe requires a loyal, hardworking food processor that is able to put up with some challenging seed crushing conditions. Several times while making this seed butter I had to turn off my own processor and give it a good pat on the back for encouragement. We now have a very close bond with each other. Our bond is so close that I’m even considering asking my food processor to prom. I’ll keep you updated on my creative prom-posal.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

If you’re unfamiliar with the pepita seed, don’t worry. I was too until I learned that it’s just a super fancy name for pumpkin seeds. Now you can impress all of your friends and family with your super seedy knowledge. You’ll be sure to leave them in awe….that is if you give them a spoonful of this nutbutter to go along with it.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The color is also incredibly unique. I personally love the green color, but my brother, on the other hand was quite appalled. “What is THAT?” he asked me as I was eating a cornbread muffin with a spoonful of pepita seed butter. He continued to glare at my snack with a look of disgust as I explained what it was to him. Despite his opinion, I was in fact thrilled that he wasn’t interested. More for me. Call me selfish if you will, but we all know who the real winner is–the one with the extra maple pepita seed butter.

I know that my rhetoric skills have now convinced you to make this recipe. My english teacher would be impressed.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Maple Pepita Seed Butter

Makes about 1 cup

Ingredients:

1 and 1/4 cup raw pepita seeds

1 tbsp pure maple syrup

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/8 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

pinch of chili powder (this sounds weird, but trust me on this one!)*

Method:

Preheat oven to 350. Mix pepitas and maple syrup and spread on a parchment lined baking sheet. Toast for 4-5 minutes, checking every few minutes to ensure they don’t burn. Remove from oven and pour the seeds into your handy, dandy food processor. Turn on the food processor and let it go for about 5 minutes. Scrape down the sides and repeat until the seed butter is smooth and liquidy. This is going to take a while, so be patient. Mine took about 20 minutes to finally smooth out. Once the desired consistency is reached, pour seed butter into a jar. This recipe keeps for about one week without  refrigeration two weeks in the fridge.

*completely optional

Now tell me…

What’s your favorite nut/seed butter?

Have you ever made your own nut/seed butter?


Leave a Reply

