Cherry Garcia Smoothie Bowl

It’s 50 degrees outside so naturally I make a freezing cold smoothie. Duh.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Surprisingly, I had never been a fan of smoothies for breakfast before this past week. The second I laid mouth on this gorgeous cherry concoction, I knew that this was no longer the case. Despite the recent drop in temperature, I still managed to have this cold breakfast everyday for the past week. A little brain freeze does a perfect job of waking me up at six o’clock in the morning before school. Now there’s your solution to morning sleepiness. Who knew a smoothie could be so powerful!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

There are specific guidelines in my book as to what composes a good smoothie:

  1. Texture: It’s got to be smooth. Gritty smoothies may go down as being worse than nails on a chalkboard in Maddie’s world of smoothies
  2. Thickness: This is KEY. The thicker the better. I want to feel like I am eating soft serve ice cream when I indulge in a smoothie bowl.
  3. Toppings: This is the most important of all three. I think the reason I didn’t care for smoothies in the first place was because I didn’t add any toppings. I am a huge fan of crunch and a plain jane, liquid smoothie doesn’t do it for me. Give me all of the crunchy toppings and I will be a happy gal.

Let us elaborate on the third point. Toppings can be tricky when it comes to smoothies. I love to put cereal on them, but I find that the cereal often gets soggy by the time I’m down to the last bites. Nut butter is always a good option, but it does little in solving the crunch dilemma. Now what? Insert Somersault’s crunchy sunflower seed bites. Coming in flavors such as salt, pepper, chocolate, and cinnamon, somersaults has got you covered on all sides of the taste spectrum. For this smoothie I used the chocolate bites, and when they were paired with the creamy cherry smoothie, I felt as though I was eating out of a pint of Ben and Jerry’s. Ice cream for breakfast anyone? You know I’m always down for dessert for breakfast…and every other time of the day for that matter.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Now go sip on your smoothie while you cuddle up by the fire in your comfy slippers. The perfect breakfast paradox.

Cherry Garcia Smoothie Bowl

Serves 1

Ingredients:

1 cup frozen pitted cherries

2 scoops vanilla protein powder (optional but recommended for thickness)

1/2 cup milk (any kind will do)

honey, maple syrup, stevia to taste

chocolate somersaults for topping

Method:

Blend all everything except the somersaults in a blender or food processor until a smooth consistency is reached. Top with crushed somersaults and EAT.


2 thoughts on “Cherry Garcia Smoothie Bowl

Leave a Reply

